Data Science Learning Resources

Data Science Learning Resources

Navigating the tech space as a self-taught developer is not easy or straightforward at all.

I have put this post together to provide you with engaging learning resources to help you become a data scientist.

Who is a data scientist?

First of all, we need to know what data science is.

Data science is the science of data. This means that different processes, specifically extraction and extrapolation, are carried out on data sets to discover patterns and make predictions or decisions based on the discovered patterns.

Data science roadmap and resources

Mathematics and Statistics

Wait! don't be scared. Math and statistics are actually fun, depending on who you learn them from. I was also discouraged when I saw I had to go back to math and statistics. However, I found these engaging resources that made me want to major in math and statistics.😉

SQL

SQL stands for Structured Query Language and is used to extract information from databases.

Python

With libraries for data analysis and data visualization, Python is a powerful language. It has easy-to-read syntax, is dynamically typed and has a great community.

To learn more about Python and its libraries, I suggest:

Any of the above resources is okay to teach you the basics then practice, practice, practice!

You may also need to do some web scraping as well.

Machine learning

Machine learning models are used to train models or make predictions based on data sets given to them. Here are some helpful resources

All the resources listed are free.

Also, I suggest trying out 365 Data science bootcamp. However, it is paid.

I have tried out the resources listed and I would recommend them any time, any day. I hope they will be of help to you.