How I Learnt Front End Web Development Without a Laptop

How I Learnt Front End Web Development Without a Laptop

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

Happy New Year to You! ๐ŸŽŠ

In 2021, we witnessed the success of various tech startups and their employees. People who learnt to code by themselves or through bootcamps and no Computer Science degree, secured jobs that paid them handsomely.

All these wonders, so to speak, piqued the interest of many people and now almost everyone wants to be a Tech Bro or Tech Sis, which is good.

However, most face an obstacle which is, "No laptop to learn with".

Recently, A Nigerian Tech Bro, Agba Akin on Twitter, shared a thread where he taught beginners web development for free and even considered the people that might have the 'no laptop' excuse. (twitter.com/kynsofficial/status/14779384998..)

After seeing that tweet I felt I should share my story because I too was faced with this challenge but as it is said,

When there's a will, there's a way

And I've got a way which I have explained elaborately below,

- A smartphone or tablet - I decided to start with what I had. The tablet I owned had a fairly wide screen and I could connect it to an external keyboard so I was okay with that.

A working smartphone is okay too, with over 2GB RAM space of course. A RAM of less than 2GB space can work but might frustrate you in the long run.

- Mobile Friendly Free Learning Resources - I used Sololearn when I started. I recommend this app anytime, anyday. It has an inbuilt IDE, a community of other learners and even mentors, challenges etc. You can also download the courses to learn offline.

Also, I used Dcoder which is a cloud based, mobile IDE.

Other mobile friendly resources I used are W3Schools and YouTube.

- Notebook and Pen - It may seem crazy but it sort of works. Look at it as taking down notes while learning.

The upside to this is that you become very familiar with the syntax of the programming language you're learning.

My way is not the only way. You can read my story and tweak it to suit you while you prepare to get a new laptop.

Thank you for reading! I hope this post was helpful.

Please like, share and comment below what you or others can do to learn to code without using a laptop which I didn't do.

ย