My Progress so far as an Outreachy Intern at Ersilia

They say time flies when you're having fun and I am having some fun in this internship so I think that statement is fitting in my situation.

I became the an Outreachy Intern for Ersilia officially on May 20th, 2022 and work started officially on June 30th, 2022.

I am interning as a Technical writer so the nature of my work consists of documentation, helping to put together course materials, data collection and entry (since Ersilia is a Hub of machine learning models), etc.

Between June 30th and today, Monday 25th, 2022, I have

  • written a guide on how to use Ersilia
  • documented the existing models in Ersilia Model Hub
  • created a template for contributors to use when documenting models they contribute to the hub
  • assisted in putting together slides for workshops

All of these tasks were done in the space of one month and three weeks. Some tasks looked easy at first but took longer than expected when i started doing them.

Also, the tools I have learnt to use are:

  • Monday.com, a project management tool
  • Slides.com, an online tool for making slides and can export the slides as HTML code
  • Google Colaboratory, it is like Jupyter notebook

I am also learning to be a data scientist because I am intrigued by use of data science in many sectors, in this case the health sector, and i want to be a part of it. My mentors at Ersilia are also doing their best to provide course materials and websites that will be of use to me in my learning journey and I am grateful

I am forever grateful for this opportunity and I will make the most use of it.