What made me want to become a Technical Writer and Data scientist

Adobe_Express_20220820_1513130_1.png

I read somewhere that our actions are based on necessity, feeling or habit, and that is something to think about. Meanwhile, in this post, I share what motivated me to become a technical writer and data scientist.

Who is a technical writer?

A technical writer is in charge of documenting processes or a product's features. Technical writers create documentation, manuals and user guides. A technical writer's skills include writing, research and communication.

My technical writer origin story

via GIPHY

When I got serious about building a career in the tech space, I wanted to start work immediately. I already knew HTML, CSS, JavaScript, Git and Python, and have projects to show but I didn't think I was ready to be a developer. Then I came across Edidiong Asikpo's post on technical writing and was sold.

Technical writing was going to give me the freedom to learn about cool technologies and share the good news about the technologies! So I got to work.

I took Google's technical writing course and learnt the tools I am supposed to know as a technical writer. I followed more technical writers on Twitter like Amruta Ranade, Ruth Ikegah, Cynthia Peter and Edidiong Asikpo (Didicodes) so I could observe and learn from their work. I also participated in Twitter spaces by Wole. All of this happened before I was accepted as an Outreachy intern at Ersilia and now, I look back and smile.

via GIPHY

I am quite pleased with myself.

To further niche down, I decided to learn about data and so far, I'm loving it. I feel blessed to be in an industry like this that I can experiment in.

What motivated you to choose your current career path?